What is WCAG?

For many, the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) can be confusing. Simply put, WCAG, which was revised in December 2008 and is now WCAG 2.0, is a set of guidelines that define the international standard for website accessibility. Click here for a link to a WCAG overview.

Click here for a link to a summary of the four WCAG 2.0 principles: perceivable, operative, understandable and robust. Any website that does not meet one of these guidelines is inaccessible to users with disabilities. There are three levels of conformance: A, AA and AAA, with A being the minimum level of conformance and AAA the maximum. Only Level AA conformance, not AAA, is required for websites. While websites should strive to meet Level AAA conformance, it may not be possible to satisfy all Level AAA criteria.

Why Is This Important?

Although people with disabilities use assistive devices, such as screen readers, to browse the web, web developers must consider accessibility when designing their websites so that everyone has equal access to Internet content. Screen readers cannot automatically describe pictures, nor can computer software automatically add accurate captions to multimedia. There must be a commitment on the part of the web developer to add accessibility features to the website.

You Might Also Like

Published by

Sam Graves

I am 24 years old and am a graduate of Augsburg College. I currently am the social media intern for Accessible360. I previously contributed to the Special Olympics Minnesota social media platforms and website. Before graduation from Augsburg College, I worked at The Arc Greater Twin Cities as a social media intern in 2015. In my spare time, I have been a baseball and Twins fan for many years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *